NRHA Rural Health Congress

The Rural Health Congress is the policy-making body of the National Rural Health Association. Elected representatives from each of the association's constituency groups, State Association Council, State Office Council, issue groups and officers serve on the Congress. This gives broad grassroots representation that reflects the concerns of NRHA's membership. The Rural Health Congress determines the association's positions on public policy through a series of policy briefs and issue papers.

Please contact NRHA's government affairs office at 202-639-0550, ext. 2073 with any questions.

Rural Health Congress roster



Rural Health Congress Chair:
Kevin Bennett, Ph.D.
Columbia, S.C.
Tim P. Wolters
Bolivar, Mo.
Michelle Mills
Aurora, Colo.

Beth O'Connor, M.Ed.
Blacksburg, Va.

Leslie Marsh, R.N.
Lexington, Neb.

Past President:
John A. Gale, M.S.
Portland, Maine

Clinical Services CG Chair:
Kate Hill, R.N.

Spring House, Pa.

Federally Qualified Health Centers CG Chair:
Toniann Richard
Lexington, Mo.
Health Equity Council Chair:
David Line, Ph.D.
Nutrioso, Ariz.
David Albright, Ph.D.
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Hospital and Community Health Systems CG Chair:
Steve Barnett, D.H.A
Sandusky, Mich.
Brian F. Bertsch
Sioux Falls, S.D.

Patrick Branco
Rugby, N.D.
Sherry Clouse Day, F.H.F.M.A.
Springfield, Mo.
John H. Everett, F.A.C.H.E.
Snyder, Texas
Sarah Gideon
Topeka, Kan.
Lari Gooding
Fairfax, S.C.
Betty Greer
Deerfield, Kan.
Tammy Hatting M.P.A.
Sioux Falls, S.D.
Stephanie Hilton-Siebert, F.A.C.H.E.
Marion, Ind.
Sarah H. Huling
Forks, Wash.
Yvonne Jonk, Ph.D.
Portland, Maine
Nikki King
Newport Beach, Calif.
Melinda Laird
Cordell, Okla.
Ralph Llewellyn
Fargo, N.D.
SuLynn Mester, D.N.Pc.
Childress, Texas
Hunter Nostrant
Newberry, Mich.
Jonathan Pantenburg, M.H.A.
Portland, Maine

Amy Schroeder
Lexington, Neb.

Matt Shahan
Hettinger, N.D.

Tanya Sharp
Albion, Neb.
Jordan Tenenbaum
Creve Coeur, Mo.
Roger D. Wells, P.A.C.
Lexington, Neb.
Heather Whetsell
Springfield, Ill.
Past Presidents Council:
Tommy L. Barnhart
Silverthorne, Colo.
Public Health Status CG Chair:
Cody Mullen, Ph.D.
West Lafayette, Ind.
Lisa Kilawee, M.P.A.
Wautoma, Wis.
Barbara Levin, M.D.
Madisonville, Tenn.
Timothy L. Putnam, D.H.A.
Batesville, Ind.
David F. Schmitz, M.D.
Grand Forks, N.D.
Pat Schou FACHE
Princeton, Ill.
Research and Education CG Chair: Rural Health Clinic CG Chair:
Elizabeth Crouch, Ph.D.
Columbia, S.C.
Joanie M. Perkins, C.P.C.
Ruleville, Miss.
Michael Meit, M.A.
Johnson City, Tenn.
Rena Salamacha
King City, Calif.
Bree Watzak Pharm.D.
College Station, Texas
Steve Smith
Kansas City, Mo.
  Deborah Whitley, C.P.A.
Waco, Texas
State Association Council Chair:
Ryan Kelly
Madison, Miss.
State Office Council Chair:
Kathryn Miller
Madison, Wisc.
Kylie Nissen B.B.A.
Grand Forks, N.D.
Robert Duehmig
Portland, Ore.
Statewide Health Resources CG Chair:
Kristine Sande, M.B.A.
Grand Forks, N.D.
Student CG Chair:

Ada Pariser
Crestwood, Ky.


Crystal Barter
East Lansing, Mich.


Lauren Canary
Roanoke, Va.

Rebecka Ernst
Chillicothe, Mo.


Justin Kearley
Johnson City, Tenn.

  Eneka Lamb
Grand Rapids, Mich.