NRHA Health Equity Council roster

NRHA's Health Equity Council highlights issues related to rural, underserved, and often under-represented populations, including LGBTQIA+, veteran, and homeless rural residents as well as multiracial and multicultural members of rural communities.

The current council roster consists of the following individuals:
David Line, Ph.D. (chair)
Eastern Washington University 
Associate professor
David L. Albright, Ph.D.
University of Alabama
Endowed Chair in Mental Health
Agnes Attakai, M.P.A.
University of Arizona
Zuckerman College of Public Health
Director of health disparities outreach
Sarah Beehler, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota Medical School
Dept. of Family Medicine
Assistant professor
Sarah Brinkman, M.B.A.
Stratis Health
Program manager
Carla Gibson
REACH Healthcare Foundation
Vice president of programs
Carrie Henning-Smith, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota
Rural Health Research Center
Deputy director
Sarah Huling
Forks Community Hospital
Hospital board, RHLR board
Susan Kunz, M.P.H.


Mary-Katherine McNatt, D.Ph., M.P.H.
A.T. Still University

College of Graduate Health Studies
Dept. chair & professor

Joni Nelson, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina College of Dental Medicine Division of Population Oral Health Assistant professor
Bryan Price
University of Virginia Cancer Center
Outreach and Education Specialist

Jan Probst, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina
Distinguished professor emerita
Julie St. John, Dr.Ph.
Texas Tech University
Health Sciences Center    
Associate dean
Mina Tanaka, M.D.
Northern Navajo Medical Center
Internal medicine physician
Kay Miller Temple, M.D.
Rural Health Information Hub
Physician writer and journalist
Matthew Tobey, M.D.
Massachusetts General Hospital
Rural Medicine Programs director
Harvard Medical School assistant professor
Maricela Vallejo
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
Medical student
Heather Whetsell, M.B.A.
Southern Illinois University Medicine Office of Population Science and Policy
Administrative director