About NRHA

Top 20 Critical Access Hospitals

The National Rural Health Association recognizes the Top 20 Critical Access Hospitals from a list of the Top 100 CAHs as determined by The Chartis Center for Rural Health. The 20 overall winners and 40 best practice recipients (in the quality and patient satisfaction categories) have achieved success based on the the Chartis Rural Hospital Performance INDEX™. The top 20 critical access hospitals in the country (in all categories) are honored annually on the final day of NRHA's Critical Access Hospital Conference.

View the 2023 Top 20 CAH press release.

Logo usage guidelines for Top 20 CAH recipients.

Review the criteria used to select Top 20 CAH overall winners and Top 20 CAH best practice recipients.


View 2023 Top 20 CAH history by state.

2023 Top 20 Critical Access Hospital winners

Boone County Health Center - Albion, Neb.
Brodstone Healthcare - Superior, Neb.
Carroll County Memorial Hospital - Carrollton, Mo.
Cass Health - Atlantic, Iowa
CHI St Alexius Health Carrington Medical Center - Carrington, N.D.
Community Hospital of Anaconda - Anaconda, Mont.
Community Medical Center - Falls City, Neb.
Community Memorial Healthcare - Marysville, Kan.
Fairview Hospital - Great Barrington, Mass.
Fredonia Regional Hospital - Fredonia, Kan.
Hansen Family Hospital - Iowa Falls, Iowa
Howard Memorial Hospital - Nashville, Ark.
Jamestown Regional Medical Center - Jamestown, N.D.
Mayo Clinic Health System - Red Cedar in Menomonie - Menomonie, Wis.
Memorial Health Care Systems - Seward, Neb.
Mobridge Regional Hospital - Mobridge, S.D.
Phelps Memorial Health Center - Holdrege, Neb.
Sanford Mayville Medical Center - Mayville, N.D.
Towner County Medical Center - Cando, N.D.
Westfields Hospital & Clinic - New Richmond, Wis.


2023 Top 20 Critical Access Hospital

Best Practice in Quality recipients

Baptist Memorial Hospital - Attala - Kosciusko, Miss.
Benefis Teton Medical Center - Choteau, Mont.
Clay County Hospital and Medical Clinics - Flora, Ill.
Coffey County Hospital - Burlington, Kan.
Cox Barton County Hospital - Lamar, Mo.
Jefferson County Hospital - Waurika, Okla.
Livingston Hospital - Salem, Ky.
Mercy Hospital Booneville - Booneville, Ark.
Mercy Hospital Kingfisher - Kingfisher, Okla.
Mercy Hospital Logan County - Guthrie, Okla.
Mercy Hospital Tishomingo - Tishomingo, Okla.
Mercy Hospital Waldron - Waldron, Ark.
Minnie Hamilton Health Care Center - Grantsville, W.Va.
Molokai General Hospital - Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Moore County Hospital District - Dumas, Texas
Mountrail County Medical Center - Stanley, N.D.
Northern Light CA Dean Hospital - Greenville, Maine
Samuel Mahelona Memorial Hospital - Kapaa, Hawaii
South Georgia Medical Center Lanier Campus - Lakeland, Ga.
Trousdale Medical Center - Hartsville, Tenn.

2023 Top 20 Critical Access Hospital

Best Practice in Patient Satisfaction recipients

Annie Jeffrey Memorial County Health Center - Osceola, Neb.
Bigfork Valley Hospital - Bigfork, Minn.
Callaway District Hospital - Callaway, Neb.
Community Memorial Hospital - Burke, S.D.
Delta Community Hospital - Delta, Utah
Electra Memorial Hospital - Electra, Texas
Greene County Hospital - Leakesville, Miss.
Hodgeman County Health Center - Jetmore, Kan.
Hopedale Medical Complex - Hopedale, Ill.
Kiowa District Healthcare - Kiowa, Kan.
Knoxville Hospital & Clinics - Knoxville, Iowa
Lynn County Hospital - Tahoka, Texas
Madison County Healthcare System - Winterset, Iowa
Martin County Hospital - Stanton, Texas
North Shore Health - Grand Marais, Minn.
Ochsner Choctaw General - Butler, Ala.
Syracuse Area Health - Syracuse, Neb.
Tallahatchie General Hospital - Charleston, Miss.
Towner County Medical Center - Cando, N.D.
Union General Hospital - Farmerville, La.
Learn more about The Chartis Center for Rural Health's Top 100 CAH and Top 100 Rural Community Hospital honorees.

For more information about NRHA’s Top 20 CAH recognition program, contact Donna Douglas.