• Home
  • Blogs
  • NRHA announces new and future leaders

NRHA announces new and future leaders

Leadership for the National Rural Health Association is secure for 2016 and beyond, thanks to recent elections for Board of Trustees and Rural Health Congress positions and the selection of candidates for NRHA’s Rural Health Fellows program. NRHA members chose David Schmitz, MD, as president-elect. Schmitz, Family Medicine Residency of Idaho chief rural officer and director for rural training tracks, will assume the duties of NRHA president in 2017. “Being entrusted to serve the National Rural Health Association as a future president is a highlight of my career,” Schmitz says. “NRHA allows our voice to be louder and smarter. I am confident we can work together to benefit our members, our organization and most of all we can strive together for better rural health.” He continues to practice family medicine, including obstetrics, as a medical educator at several Idaho locations. Members selected Pat Schou to serve as NRHA’s board secretary in 2016 and 2017. Schou is executive director of the Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network. Elected in 2014, Lisa Kilawee will serve as president in 2016. NRHA is pleased to announce all individuals elected by their peers to serve in leadership roles. NRHA is also proud to announce its 10th class of Rural Health Fellows. After the completion of a competitive review process, 16 fellows were selected to participate in this yearlong, intensive program aimed at developing leaders who can articulate a clear and compelling vision for rural America. “Once again, this class represents various levels of rural health expertise,” NRHA CEO Alan Morgan said. “With the successes achieved by the previous classes, we look forward to continuing the tradition of building rural health care leaders through this valuable program.” The 2016 fellows’ first meeting will be during NRHA’s Rural Health Policy Institute Feb. 2-4 in Washington, D.C.

This website uses cookies. By accepting the use of cookies, this message will close and you will receive the optimal website experience. For more information on our cookie policy, please visit our Privacy Policy