NRHA announces 2021 Rural Health Award recipients

The National Rural Health Association (NRHA) is proud to announce the association’s 2021 Rural Health Award recipients. NRHA’s Rural Health Awards are given each year to individuals and organizations in the field of rural health who have dedicated their time and talents to improving the health and well-being of others.
“We’re extremely proud of this year’s winners, particularly because of the extra challenges rural health care providers have faced since the COVID-19 pandemic began,” says NRHA CEO Alan Morgan. “They have each made tremendous strides to advance rural health care, and we’re confident they will continue to help improve the lives of rural Americans.”

  • Outstanding Rural Health Organization - Coalfield Health Center
  • Outstanding Rural Health Program - Northeast Kentucky Substance Use Response Coalition
  • Louis Gorin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Rural Health Care - Alison Hughes
  • Rural Health Practitioner of the Year - Jennifer Bacani McKenney, M.D.
  • Outstanding Researcher Award - Alana Knudson, Ph.D.
  • NRHA/John Snow Inc. Student Leadership Award - Douglas Snow
  • NRHA/John Snow Inc. Student Achievement Award - Kelly Dougherty
  • Volunteer of the Year - Pat Schou
  • President's Award - National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health

View NRHA's press release to learn more about each recipient.

And register for NRHA’s virtual Annual Rural Health Conference events where recipients will be honored May 6.