• Home
  • Blogs
  • NRHA announces 2018 Rural Health Fellows

NRHA announces 2018 Rural Health Fellows

The National Rural Health Association is pleased to announce the final selections for its 2018 Rural Health Fellows program.

After the completion of a competitive review process, 17 fellows were selected to participate in this yearlong, intensive program aimed at developing leaders who can articulate a clear and compelling vision for rural America.

“We are very pleased to announce this new class of fellows as this program enters its tenth year. Once again, this class represents various levels of rural health expertise,” NRHA CEO Alan Morgan said. “With the successes achieved by the previous classes, we look forward to continuing the tradition of building rural health care leaders through this valuable program.”

The new NRHA Rural Health Fellows are:
  • David L. Albright, University of Alabama Hill Crest Foundation endowed chair in mental health, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
  • Windy Alonso, University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing post-doctoral research associate, Omaha, Neb.
  • Jeffrey Bacon, Banner Health chief medical officer, Sterling, Colo.
  • David Barney, CHG Healthcare corporate business development manager, Midvale, Utah. 
  • Portia Brown, Valley Health Page Memorial Hospital vice president, Luray, Va.
  • Elizabeth Crouch, University of South Carolina assistant professor, Columbia, S.C.
  • Carter Florence, East Tennessee State University doctoral candidate, Johnson City, Tenn.
  • Austin Gillard, Clay County Medical Center chief executive officer, Clay Center, Kan.
  • Tara Haskins, Louisiana Tech University associate professor, Ruston, La.
  • Wei-Chen Lee, University of Texas Medical Branch health disparities analyst, Galveston, Texas.
  • Laurel Molloy, UNC Lenoir Health Care chief nursing officer, Kinston, N.C.
  • Bishow Paudel, Holy Rosary Hospital chief hospitalist, Miles City, Mont.
  • Shena Popat, NORC Walsh Center for Rural Health Analysis research scientist, Bethesda, Md.
  • Carey Rivinius, Jacobson Memorial Hospital Care Center family nurse practitioner, Elgin, N.D.
  • Dennis Shelby, Wilson Medical Center chief executive officer, Neodesha, Kan.
  • Nicole Thorell, Lexington Regional Health Center chief nursing officer, Lexington, Neb.
  • Karen White, Missouri Highlands Health Care chief executive officer and chief financial officer, Ellington, Mo.
The fellows’ first meeting will be Feb. 5 during NRHA’s Rural Health Policy Institute in Washington, D.C.

This website uses cookies. By accepting the use of cookies, this message will close and you will receive the optimal website experience. For more information on our cookie policy, please visit our Privacy Policy