As members, students can come together with their peers, educators, administrators, health professionals and other stakeholders to create a dialogue about rural health and related issues, such as workforce and policy.

NRHA’s Student Constituency Group is overseen by a board of students who are elected each year. The board assists in recruitment, plans NRHA’s Annual Rural Health Conference student track and promotes rural health issues.

Want to get involved?
Email NRHA’s student outreach coordinators. We're eager to get students and schools involved and provide updates on future NRHA leadership opportunities, including student board elections.

NRHA student board members
NRHA’s student board members are passionate about rural health and education and would love to hear from you. Below are bios about each of our current board members with contact information.

2023 NRHA Student CG Board

Andrew Nerland

Region 4 Coordinator

Andrew Nerland is currently a third-year medical student at University of South Dakota’s Sanford School of Medicine and serves as the Region 6 coordinator.

Ashli Chew

Communications Coordinator

Ashli Chew is currently a second-year medical student at East Tennessee State University’s Quillen College of Medicine and serves as NRHA’s Communication Coordinator.

Bradley Firchow

Policy Liaison

Bradley is currently a third-year medical student in the Rural Physician Leadership Program at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine.

Brenden Barness

Region 6 Coordinator

Brenden is a medical student at the University of Arizona College of Medicine Tucson and is a part of the rural health, commitment to underserved populations, and research distinction tracts.

Catalina Yepez

Region 1 Coordinator

My Name is Catalina Yepez and I am currently a third year student in the WSU Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical sciences program.

Eneka Lamb

Student Constituency Group Chair

Eneka is currently a medical student in the Leadership in Rural Medicine Program at Michigan State College of Human Medicine (MSUCHM).

Garrett Orick

Region 2 Coordinator

Garrett is currently a second-year MD/MPH student in the Rural Primary Care Track Program at East Tennessee State University’s Quillen College of Medicine.

Jessica Scheer

Region 3 Coordinator

Jess is currently a 3rd-year medical student at the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

Kathryn Williams

DEI/HEC Liaison

Kathryn Williams is a Master of Social Work student at West Virginia University. She is a lifelong Kentucky resident who is passionate about behavioral health in rural Appalachia.

Katie McLaughlin

Policy Liaison

Katie is currently a third-year medical student at the University of Minnesota Medical School, having completed her first two years on the Duluth campus.

Michael Sauseda

Region 7 Coordinator

Michael T. Sauseda is a dedicated and accomplished professional with a diverse background and a strong commitment to patient care and advancing rural healthcare practices.

Rebecka Ernst

Vice Chair

She is a third-year medical student at the University of Missouri and is an active member of their Rural Track program.

This website uses cookies. By accepting the use of cookies, this message will close and you will receive the optimal website experience. For more information on our cookie policy, please visit our Privacy Policy